Food travels thousand miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should but food from local farmer to protect the environment and help the local business. DO the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Food – basic necessity for every individual. It tries to reach even the remotest place in the world : by road, by airways, by water-ways and by train. So, all credits should be given to producer of the food, and environment which supports this production. I opine, we all should try to purchase food from farmers rather than super-markets or agents.

Despite below mentioned few drawbacks, there are manifold benefits by promoting local purchase. Firstly, due to middle-man culture, agrarians are not getting their fair share of profits. Agents make most of the money ; large segment of local producers succumb to huge losses . To abolish this discrimination consumers should purchase from local market, which inherently increase farmers fair share of profit. This movement is imperative to help agrarian society prosper and gain equity. Secondly, buying fresh items from local market helps in protecting the environment : by decreased use of chemicals and preservatives to increase shelf-life of product. Use of chemicals are one of the major cause for ozone layer depletion. As the fresh items are devoid of all these deadly additives ,which in a long run help to keep the environment intact. Furthermore, even individuals can strive towards healthy life style by consuming less preserved fresh food items.

However, on the contrary, there are 2 minor problems associated with the support of local purchase. Primarily, local sellers and buyers are not staying in close proximity, which makes buyers to spend lot of time to drive to the location of local market. Secondly, local market might not necessarily have stock of all the items which are demanded by the buyer; eventually it will make buyer go back to super-market.

In conclusion, tough there are time and proximity issues in promoting local business, the stark positive impact on agrarian society, individual’s improved healthy lifestyle, and environment protection stand stead to support this advancement in local purchase.