The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

<p style="white-space: normal;">Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked with food products from around the world. Some individuals are of the opinion that this imported food has detrimental effect on our economy and culture and it would be better if people ate only the local produce. This essay provides empirical evidences showing that the disadvantages of imported food outweigh the advantages.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">To begin with, on the positive side, first of all transporting food over a long distance increases the choices by providing world wide variety of food. In other words, a person can enjoy range of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world. For example, about ten years ago, kiwi fruit was unknown to Indians, which is from New Zealand. But, now it has a place on every Indian fruit stand. Secondly, many people get employment in this field, as small farmers have a chance to expand globally and it increases the overall economy of the country. Finally, it helps in developing good relations between countries, which helps in international cooperation and peace. Eventually, when countries are dependent upon one another’s economic success, then conflicts are less likely to happen.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">On the other hand, importing food can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as Japan where imported food has become more popular than traditional, local produce, eroding people’s understanding of their own food traditions. Although some claim that this is a natural part of economic development, in an increasingly global world, paradoxically any loss of regional culture is detrimental. A second major reason to reduce imports is the environmental cost. To enumerate, currently, many food imports such as fruits, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the produce more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhausted fumes. Despite the fact that trade in food exports has existed for many years, the reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains.</p><p style="white-space: normal;">In the light of these facts one can conclude that, eating locally produced food would bring environmental benefits. It would also benefit the local economy because, in time, people would prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional produce would remain high withstanding the competition from overseas.</p>