Food is crucial for human life, and nowadays people consume food that has travelled great distances from their manufactures. Some people therefore, argue that it would be benefial for the environment and the economy, if individuals only consume food produced locally. To a large extent I agree with this view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

On the one hand, environmental problems are a highly debated topic these days. Transporting food from one end of the world to the other end requires a huge amount of fossil fuels. This causes considerable damage to the environment. So if locally produced food are preferred by the people , there will be a massive reduction in the use of oil. Also when compared to their counterparts locally produced fruit and vegetables are free of preservatives because enough time is allowed for ripening. For example, researchers at the University of Delhi found out that majority of the fruits imported to India are ripened on the way using chemicals. So local foods can be beneficial to our health. Also, many people will get employment in this field leading to better economic prospects. small-holders will have a chance to expand globally and it will increase the overall economy of the nation.

On the other hand, In my opinion eating locally produced food is not a viable option because there is a limit to the kind of food that can be grown in a particular area. For instance, fruits like apples and peaches will only grow in colder climates, similarly some fruits and vegetables can only be grown in warmer climates. So if people eat only what is available inn their region, their choices will be limited.

In conclusion, eating locally produced food can be beneficial for the environment and to the health of the people, but in my opinion this is not a viable option because it will limit the choices people have.