Foreign language instruction should begin in kindergarten.

Discuss.

According to a famous saying, The limits of my language are the limits of my world. Indeed, the ability to speak several languages is considered one of the hallmarks of a cultured person. From this perspective, foreign language instruction should begin as early as possible in order to achieve near-native fluency. The reasons behind this approach are intellectual, social and professional.

Intellectually, learning a foreign language at a young age enables children to develop their brain. At this age, children's minds are like sponges and their capacities are limitless. They have less inhibition or biases against learning different subjects. They can learn one, two or three languages without confusion; it would only serve to expand their minds. Therefore, it is ideal to start teaching a foreign language in kindergarten.

Socially, learning a foreign language enables the young child to enter a wider cultural world. By learning to speak, think and understand a different language, the child develops greater cross-cultural awareness. This critical ability enables the child to make friends with, identify with and empathize with others who speak the additional language.

Professionally, by learning a foreign language in kindergarten, the child expands his/her future career horizons. In today's increasingly globalized world, bilingual and multilingual individuals are in high demand. The child who achieves this fluency naturally and easily at a young age already has an edge over others in the job market.