Is freedom of speech necessary for the society

There is an ongoing debate among people that if freedom must be given to everyone to raise their voice. I opine that, freedom should be given to certain extent where one can voice out their opinion without disrupting the public.

Freedom of speech is consider as birth right as it helps one express their thoughts and opinion. In order to become a good leader one needs to take their stand and point out any mistakes that they encounter in our society so that, the opponent can realize their fault and can correct their behavior. Also, by raising one’s voice they are recognized by others and their ideas and suggestions are reached to fellow human beings. In addition, speaking freely without any inhibition can make oneself very confident to face this world be it in their house or work place. For example, many politician in my country believe that in order to bring changes to our community, party leader must express their view point strongly through speech so that they are heard clearly by the ruling bodies.

On the flip side, one should not forget that everything has a limit. In order to put someone down or hurt their opponent deliberately they, should not abuse or use filthy language against them or their family members. This can cause catastrophic effect among people. It is often said that don’t cry over spilled milk, likewise once words are out no one can retrieve it back. Also, if everyone are given full freedom to express their opinion, this world would become a jungle where people are constantly shouting and fighting. Hence, at some place it is better to reserve ones opinion and stay silent. For example, Indian freedom fighter Mahatma Gandhi practiced silence because he believes that one should ‘speak only if it improves upon the silence’.

To conclude, one should express their though in such a way that they do not hurt others feelings. Voicing out concerns or appreciation is always healthy because it is the only way to acknowledge others act.