The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree?

Owing to the rapid growth of technology some people think that government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. While many approve of this opinion, I strongly disagree.

On the one hand, no doubt that focusing on teaching sciences would increase human living standards. Works that used to be done by humans are now being done automatically thanks to cutting-edge technology. For example, some hospitals in the world adopt AI technology to diagnose patients’ symptoms. Furthermore, if science develops, military strength will escalate exponentially providing countries power to protect themself.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks when a country’s science grows too rapidly. Firstly, giving science too much attention would weaken other fields. For instance, the investment for subjects such as history, geography, biology,ect being cut down would affect tourism which plays an important role in the economy of many countries. Another reason is that is cause labor to be unemployed. Industries and factories tend to replace humans with machines so as to make more profit. The unemployed will be the social burden resulting in a country recession, contrary to the original purpose.

In short, allocating more funding to teaching sciences brings certain benefits. I would argue that for long terms benefit governments should divide funding to all subjects equally.