Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the authority should give more financial support for railway construction rather than road construction. I somewhat agree with this statement because there are various benefits from railways, but using cars also brings about a lot of merits.

On the one hand, the construction of railways may bring certain benefits to the country. The main reason is that trains are eco-friendly to the environment. The train is considered public transportation, which emits a small amount of carbon dioxide than car. For instant, research states that CO2 from car emissions makes up 30% of air pollution while the figure for trains is 9%. Moreover, travelling by train is more convenient than by car. Passengers who use train may not experient the traffic congestion which road passengers suffer.

On the other hand, a country would derive many merits from road construction. First and foremost, by upgrading and building more roads, traffic congestion and accidents would be reduced. To illustrate, VietNam’s authority invested about 1300 billion VND for the construction of the Hanoi - Lao Cai highway, therefore, the number of car accidents in this area showed a drop from 140 cases to 47 cases per year. Another compelling reason is that the more roads are built, the more this area grows. Road extension would lead to the growth in all aspects of life for residents in this area.

In conclusion, I believe that two sides of this statement is justifiable. The authority should treat these problems equally, with a good financial help.