Excessive use of sugar is not good for health. Therefore, many governments have imposed special taxes on all eatables that have high levels of sugar. These taxes have some major advantages while there are few disadvantages as well.

Governments have recently imposed taxes on sugary eatables. Excessive use of sugar in our food on daily basis is really bad for our health and it eventually leads to diabetes. Diabetes is a disease that currently has no cure. People who consume a lot of eatables with high levels of sugar on daily basis become diabetics. People having diabetes spend a lot of money on their health care. In order to improve the health of their citizens many governments have imposed special taxes on food that have high level of sugar. Due to sugar taxes, the overall health of the citizens will improve as not many people will be able to buy these expensive foods. By having good health, the citizens don’t have to spend a lot on their health care as they will stay fit by consuming healthy affordable products.

Once overall the health of citizens will improve. Then the government will also benefit from sugar taxes as they will not have to spend a lot on the healthcare infrastructure. The funds saved from the healthcare budget can be spent on different industries towards the prosperity of the country.

These special taxes have some negative impacts as well. Due to these special taxes the prices of high sugary eatables tend to skyrocket. Therefore, poor people are not able to buy these products due to their excessive pricing. Once the prices of these eatables increase. The demand starts to dip as not a lot of people are able to afford these products anymore due to their hefty prices. This directly affects the manufacturers of these products as they start to feel the losses in business due to the decline in demand of these products.

I personally believe that these special taxes are beneficial for all of us. Due to these taxes, more and more people will start to consume healthy eatables that are available at many affordable rates. As a result, the overall health of the population will start to improve in the countries where these taxes have been introduced. More people will stay healthier and fitter.