Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Government introduce taxes sometime to generate their revenue but they also implement them occasionally because of their hidden purpose. In number of different countries the local government introduce special taxes on food and beverages with high level of sugar. Although, some people believe its good but others think that is not useful as it look like. In my opinion, I think it will help a little to manage the consumption of these goods but will not affect a lot.

To commence with, Firstly higher in tax level will lead into rise of cost of such drinks and products. The higher price will put extra burden on customers pocket which resulted in reduction of consumption of such item. The hidden purpose here government want to serve is by dropping down consumption will lead to healthier life in nations population, as these goods leads to diseases such as diabetes which is root cause of all the major health problem.

On the other hand, people are habitual, they can not easily change there habit what they are used to on regular basis. Adding dollar or two in price might not effect there buying behavior and they will continue to buy these products. These taxes will either make a slight or no effect to demand of these product. Hence some people says it not useful. In addition, during marriages and party people will still buy and drink it, these adding dollars will not stop them to serve these goods on that special occasion, however it will skyrocket the cost of organizing these events.

In conclusion, I believe these taxes will on change the quantity demand graph a little bit but not a lot. The one who like to buy it will still buy it but the one who occasionally buying it will stop buying them or will try to buy even on reduced frequency.