Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree Discuss both views and give your opinion

Across the world, many nations have implemented special taxes on foods and beverages with high sugar levels. While some people support this move, others oppose it. In my opinion, imposing a tax on sugary foods and drinks is a good idea as it improves public health and reduces the burden on public health care systems.

On the one hand, many people support the special taxes on food items containing high levels of sugar mainly because this measure helps to maintain good health. In other words, the imposition of higher taxes reduces the consumption of sugary foods and beverages by increasing their price.

Sugar provides no nutrition and adds just 'empty calories to the human body, contributing to gain weight and disrupting the glucose levels of blood. So, obviously. This measure is in the public interest as it will help individuals keep their health in control and avoid the adverse consequences of a sugar-rich diet, such as diabetes or obesity.

On the other hand, some people opine that the government has no business interfering with people's food choices. After all, adults are capable of choosing what is right and wrong for them. They maintain that if the government deliberately increases tax on sugary foods with the sole objective of making them unaffordable to people, it violates people's rights. However, in my opinion, this argument does not hold much water because it is a well-known fact that sugary foods lead to health problems in people, and as the government spends the most on public health, it has the right to control the consumption. of unhealthy foods.

A lot of people even in developed countries depend entirely on public healthcare programs and hence if they eat whatever they want and end up in hospitals, it does not benefit anyone.

In conclusion, I fully support the argument that the government should increase taxes on sugary drinks and foods to reduce their consumption. These foods are known to cause health problems in people and, as such, their consumption should be controlled.