Many food and drink items contain excessive amounts of sugar these days and hence governments have imposed extra taxes on these items. Some people agree with this change while others believe it is unnecessary. This essay will discuss both these views and I will give my opinion.

Advocates who support the idea of adding taxes on sugary food items argue that this will help to improve the health of the citizens. High prices will discourage many people to purchase such unhealthy food items and they will be forced towards healthier options. Cigarettes, for example, impose a high risk on the health of the people and hence authorities have put a hefty tax on them. Therefore, many people think additional taxes should be welcomed as they are for the welfare of the countryman.

On the other side, critics of additional taxes believe that this will create a minimal effect on people’s food habits. It has been observed that after the initial hiccup, most people readjust to the changes. This can create a double blow as people will end up saving less and still won't live a healthier lifestyle. Instead, governments can be innovative in dealing with this. They should educate people on making a conscious choice towards their food habits and draw their attention towards the side effects of unhealthy food and drinks. If there are better alternatives provided, people are able to make informed choices that are far more sustainable compared to the forceful option.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that adding taxes on food and beverages with elevated levels of sugar is completely unjustified. There are other ways such as creating awareness and promoting other alternatives, by which governments can make a positive impact on people’s eating habits.