The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care
system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the
best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in
the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
Owing to the problems which a growing population of overweight people cause for
the health care system, some people think that the key to solving these issues is to
have more sport and exercise in schools. In my opinion, I completely agree that this
is the best way to tackle the issue of deteriorating public health in relation to weight.
Firstly, dealing with the issues surrounding obesity and weight problems is best
solved by taking a long term approach and introducing more sport and exercise in
schools. This method will ensure that the next generation will be healthier and will
not have such health problems. At the moment, the average child in the West does
sport possibly twice a week, which is not enough to counteract their otherwise
sedentary lifestyle. However, by incorporating more sports classes into the
curriculum as well as encouraging extracurricular sports activities, they will
undoubtedly become fitter and more active.
Another point to consider is that having more sports lessons for children in schools
will probably result in children developing an interest in exercise which might filter
through to other members of their family and have a longer lasting effect. In other
words, parents with sporty children are more likely to get involved in sport as a way
of encouraging their children. By both parents and children being involved, it will
ensure that children grow up to incorporate sport into their daily lives. This is
certainly a natural and lasting way to improve public health.