High stakes English language tests, such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer.Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience?

People from around the world take English language tests, such as the IELTS, in order to migrate, enter universities or attain employment. As computer technology improves, including algorithms that mark speaking and writing, the testing is shifting away from human examiners and onto computers. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and show that, indeed, computer-based testing is superior to traditional paper-based testing.

There are a number of important advantages that computer delivered tests possess. The first is that the computer algorithms uses to assess candidates will continue to improve over time, becoming ever more refined. As the computer collects thousands - if not millions - of candidate responses, it will use these data to improve itself and it eventually supersedes human examiners in the way it awards marks. Second, candidates will be able to prepare online. This will makes their lives much easier as online test preparation is arguably more efficient, effective, convenient and cost-effective. Clearly, language tests delivered via a computer will be extremely advantageous.

Despite the benefits, there are some drawbacks associated with the shift away from traditional testing. The main issue is that language examiners will lose their jobs. There are many thousands of people currently employed by testing organisations who will have to find work elsewhere as algorithms begin to replace them. In addition, computer-based language tests will take some time to develop and there will no doubt be some issues as they mature. Being able to test candidate's spoken English is especially complex and will take time to perfect. Overall, though, these two drawbacks pale in comparison to the benefits.

This essay discussed the ways in which computer-based testing will affect those involved. In my opinion, although there are disadvantages associated with the move to computer-based testing, the advantages clearly outweigh them.