High technology is now being harnessed to help the elderly by providing monitoring, tracking and, perhaps one day robots as companions. Whilst there are obvious benefits for the elderly in these developments, some people are uneasy about the social consequences.

• What are the consequences of this trend?

• What is your opinion on this matter?

With the developed high-end technology usage, it is believed by many people that the older generation is being controlled by monitoring, observing and tracking them. Moreover, it might lead to robot domination over elderly people. In my opinion, old people should be given liberty and freedom to enjoy their life.

Old people are an important asset of the society. They teach youngsters important aspects of life, for instance, discipline, history, and culture. Restricting them will result in an uneducated and uncivilized society. Increased usage of gadgets, such as steps tracking smart watches, measuring blood pressure, sugar level and pulse detection devices, has resulted in a complex locality. Restricting the elderly from traveling, walking in the park has created a stage of loneliness and empty feeling heart. Indeed, modern society youngsters are extremely busy in their day-to-day activities that they are unable to give attention to their parents and out of concern they try to track them down using GPS, which creates an emotional breakdown.

Furthermore, the usage of indoor activities, such as a heated swimming pool, advanced equipped gym, robotic massaging parlor, etc. have rapidly increased and helps in maintaining the physique. However, the outdoor activities like playing badminton, walking or jogging in parks cannot be underestimated. In addition to maintaining health, they provide mental relaxation, developing a social circle where they can have a light-minded conversation, for instance, sharing their life experience. Keeping them restricted with technology, makes them feel observed and controlled every moment which adversely results in the cold war between the generations.

In my opinion, old people should have timely exposure to technology. Limiting them from experimenting with continuous health tracking, usage of smartphone, watching televisions and internet, will save time and they can utilize it by playing and educating children, visiting to temple for divine worship. Through these activities, they can eliminate boredom, mental and physical depression.

To conclude, bounding an old person in technology, will have adverse effects on society and their health. This can be controlled by giving them the freedom of traveling and exposure to nature.