IELTS Essay

Topic - Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Kindly Evaluate and help me in understanding IELTS estimated band score for my writing.

Kindly Evaluate and help me in understanding IELTS General estimated band score for my writing.

An increased number of people are preferring to meet their friends and family online instead of in person. In my opinion, this is creating a detrimental effect on individual reading them to seclusion, and serious health and social issues.

Firstly, social media creates a hallucinogenic virtual world, which harbingers isolation and self-centeredness. Before the rise of social networking, people used to meet others face to face which brought them joy, and feeling of belonging and wanted. But now, with no real human interaction people are leading themselves to a fake life which is showcased online as a perfect life, consequently making them envy of others and often leading to depression.

Secondly, socialising online has resulted into serious health issues that is caused mainly due to sedentary lifestyle that follows. For instance, people choose to stay at home and chat online, confining themselves into rooms instead of indulging with people outside for a sport or a walk, which results into little or no exercise. For this reason, there is an increse in health issues such as obesity and cardiac problems.

Finally, choosing to socialize online is the reason for increased cyber crime rate. Admittedly, people ofter register themselves under fake identities to lure people, especially teenagers who are naive and immature, into sexual or monitoring favours. Additionally, if someone shares some personal photos or information online, it is present there for everyone's access for lifetime and can be missused anytime which can lead to embarrasment.

To conclude, socialising online has various drawbacks which has damaging effects on one's physical and psychological health, also at harbingers increasing social crimes.