In some part of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a negative or positive development?

Studying and researching about own family’s history and heritage has become increasingly popular around the world. There are various reasons to why this would interest an individual and one would invest time and energy in digging family details, such as, knowledge about ancient customs and traditions as well as any medical problems. In my opinion, this research is beneficial for the individual and the future generation.

Knowing and understanding one’s family history and background has always been fascinating for some. Firstly, it aids in exploring family heritage and culture which have been lost over generation transition and relocation from native place. This is because, an increased number of people are moving to different cities and even countries seeking better education and job opportunities. For this reason, they are not aware of their roots and traditions which one might want to research. Further, it helps in identifying any genetic diseases which might pass on and be dormant for time being. Such diseases reappear after long duration and people are left clueless of any preventive action that could have been taken. This can even prove to be fatal if there is no existing cure available or due to short span of time doctors are not able to identify the disease timely.

In my opinion, researching about family history can only be considered as advantageous for an individual and his/her successor. Knowing about family custom, tradition and culture helps in preventing loss of culture and dialect, as well as aids in future generation be informative of same. An individual will be benefited by imbibing its rich culture, and on the other hand be prepared for any unforeseen problems and diseases that might be inherited.

To conclude, study about family has become popular to satiate knowledge about their ancient culture and traditions, and to have an insight on medical history and issues that can be genetically transferred.