In some part of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a negative or positive development?
Studying and researching about own family’s history and heritage has become increasingly popular
around the world. There are various reasons to why this would interest an individual and one would
invest time and energy in digging family details, such as, knowledge about ancient customs and
traditions as well as any medical problems. In my opinion, this research is beneficial for the
individual and the future generation.
Knowing and understanding one’s family history and background has always been fascinating for
some. Firstly, it aids in exploring family heritage and culture which have been lost over generation
transition and relocation from native place. This is because, an increased number of people are
moving to different cities and even countries seeking better education and job opportunities. For
this reason, they are not aware of their roots and traditions which one might want to research.
Further, it helps in identifying any genetic diseases which might pass on and be dormant for time
being. Such diseases reappear after long duration and people are left clueless of any preventive
action that could have been taken. This can even prove to be fatal if there is no existing cure
available or due to short span of time doctors are not able to identify the disease timely.
In my opinion, researching about family history can only be considered as advantageous for an
individual and his/her successor. Knowing about family custom, tradition and culture helps in
preventing loss of culture and dialect, as well as aids in future generation be informative of same. An
individual will be benefited by imbibing its rich culture, and on the other hand be prepared for any
unforeseen problems and diseases that might be inherited.
To conclude, study about family has become popular to satiate knowledge about their ancient
culture and traditions, and to have an insight on medical history and issues that can be genetically
transferred.