In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

Shopping in malls or huge shopping centres has become increasingly popular among the buyers resulting in closure of multiple small scale business and local shops. In my opinion, this trend is beneficial for the customers, but can only be considered as negative for local businesses.

There are many detrimental effects on regional shops as customers travel to large malls. Firstly, this results in reduced sales as shop keepers fail to entice the customers for shopping in their local shops. Consequently, it leads to closure of the shops, leaving them unemployed and in search of new business or a job. Secondly, they fall into prey of financial issues in supporting their family, often leading to debts. As a result, they start facing health issues due to increased stress level, such as cardiac problem and depression.

On the other hand, travelling to large shopping malls for purchasing has many benefits for the customers, for instance lucrative sales, centralized shopping and more comfort. This is because, most of the malls renders seasonal sales and reduced prices to attract the buyers. Also, shopping malls have different categories of shops at some place, for instance, grocery, clothing and accessories. Further, it is more comfortable to shop in air conditioned malls with multiple recreational areas and restaurants, to enhance the shopping experience.

In conclusion, although shopping in large shopping centres has bought multitude of problems for small local shops, often resulting in their closure. it has certainly enhanced the customer experience as they can shop in a more luxurious environment and get the products often at a reduced price.