Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem.

However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase.

Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society.

The importance of education is undeniable and a crucial cog in development of any country. Off late, it has been noticed that industrial advanced countries are not prone to illiteracy as there has been a steep rise in illiterates among countries such as the USA and Australia. Increasing population , technology advancements are primary reasons contributing to this trend. This essay will analyze the repercussions of this change and aforementioned causes in details along with relevant examples.

To begin with technology advancements such as internet and gaming consoles have been addictive to young minds. In addition to that, internet has diminished the importance of formal education as it has paved path to many successful talents. It has been imprinted that even if there is no formal education, there are many other ways to obtain knowledge and skills consequently earn money to be successful. To illustrate this, an oxford study suggests that 25% of top 500 richest individuals comprises of social media stars aging below 20.

Secondly, rise in population has made resources scarce. This has resulted in severe competition for limited seats in public schools and colleges. Unable to afford private education, many parents deny their children the right to education. It also fuels youngsters to indulge in many anti social elements such as drug usage and extortion This is a very disturbing trend that could do more harm to society than good. As many reports state , 75% of criminals in prisons are illiterates indicating the role of formal education in a healthy society.

To recapitulate, although being illiterate doesn’t necessarily mean not being successful it is important in developed countries to not deny their citizens of formal education and maintain the literacy rate as high as possible by efficient management of resources and also stringent educa-tion policies.