Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. Do you think this way can work? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The fact is that traffic and pollution have been being two major concerns worldwide recently. Some people believe that a rising petrol price is the best way to deal with traffic and pollution, and I totally agree with this point of view. However, I would outline several practical solutions which could be applied.

The most important reason why I believe the increase of petrol price would be the best solution for traffic and pollution problems is that it decreases the demand of fuel usage. Due to petrol price increased, many people consider if they should use public transport instead of self-driving, for saving the travel cost. For instance, car owners and motorists could turn to travel by bus or car sharing service such as Uber, so fewer private vehicles would make the traffic less heavy and reduce air pollution. Besides, the manufacturing factories would spend less gasoline causing carbon dioxide emission that may contribute to air pollution. Increasing the petrol price may reduce oil consumption of those mills and result in less polluted atmosphere.

Meanwhile, some other possible solutions can address this issue. Firstly, governments should concentrate on the implication of a policy to encourage the use of alternative and renewable fuel sources such as wind, solar energy and water power. This means that petrol would be no longer used and the air pollution from this factor would be cut down. Secondly, a modern and convenient system of public transportation could appeal to the majority of people to commute instead of using their own vehicles. Last but not least, authorities are making efforts to build car-free cities shown good results in coping with mounting matters of traffic and pollution.

In conclusion, a broad spectrum of solutions is accessible to tackle escalating traffic and environmental pollution problems, also proposing a more expensive price of petrol can be a contributing factors to support.