Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a matter of debate since long that changes in society can only be brought by governments and large institutions rather than individuals. Although it can never be denied that government and large institutions have the power and resource to bring new developments however in my opinion both government, large institutions and individuals need to work hand in hand to bring positive changes in the society which can make this world a better living place. In this essay I will elucidate my opinion with relevant examples.

First and foremost governments globally have always been policy makers and facilitator for its society. They can provide world-class facilities like education, health care and security for their people however it is for an individual to use such facilities and innovate to bring changes in the society. For instance in Singapore government is providing funding to some brilliant individuals from National University of Singapore to build its first communication satellite. Similarly in developing countries like India government is facilitating resources to individuals to start manufacturing space components in India therefore it is evident that individuals and government need to work jointly to bring new developments in the society.

Similarly large corporation have funding and resources to bring new developments in the society however when we look at specific examples from companies like Apple it can be seen that individuals like Steve Jobs have made a difference by inventing cool communication gadgets like MacBook’s, Phones.

In conclusion it is evident from above examples that although government and large corporations have a larger role to play to trigger a change in the society however they must co-work with individuals to bring such changes.