Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether new developments in society can only be brought by government and not by individuals has always been a matter of debate. Although it can never be denied that federal bodies and large corporates have the requisite power and resources to bring such changes which can help change the society for better however in my opinion, individual contributions are vital too for innovations and implementation of such policies therefore both entities must work hand in hand for a positive changes in society. In this essay we will discuss both sides of the argument with relevant examples.

First and foremost elected policy makers in any nation can only facilitate its citizens by providing modern facilities of innovation then it is up to an individual’s potential to utilize such resources for betterment of society. For example in China, the Chinese government is funding many scholars from China Technology University on research for alternative sources of energy which can help to reduce the environmental pollution.

Secondly large companies provide modern facilities and funding for research and development project to its engineers for innovation. For instance recently technology giant Space-X made headlines when they launched and tested the first reusable rocket into the space which can save millions of dollars, thanks to individual contributions from some the brightest minds.

Lastly individual’s inventions of life saving drug Penicillin by Alexander Fleming which helped save millions of lives globally can’t also be ignored. Similarly American scientist Thomas Elva Edison who made significant inventions in Electricity power generation, mass communication are helping our society to live a comfortable life.

In conclusion it is evident from the above examples that although public administration bodies and large companies have a larger role to play for new developments in society however individual contributions have also helped the society from time to time therefore both must work together for the prosperity of the society.