Instead of teaching a broad range of subjects, a university should focus on those necessary for a given profession. Which do you prefer?

Many people argue that university subjects should be focused on the prospective future profession of a student. Others, however, oppose this idea and opine that a university is a place to shape the overall ability of a student and to create an enlightened nation. I agree with the latter thought and believe that the way universities teach around the world is a far better setup than focusing only on job-centric education.

First of all, in these days, the job sectors are dynamic and employees are given different tasks and new challenges at a workplace. Knowledge learned from the subjects that only focus on the jobs fails to enhance the overall skill of students. So, it can be catastrophic to a country to have the type of employees who have been taught job-related courses but were not introduced to the vast array of other aspects of education. Most of the companies these days search for people who are more dynamic and have diverse skills than candidates with good grades. For instance, most of the software development companies give priority of a candidate's performance, skill set and analytical ability than his academic results.

Secondly, the competitive job sector all over the world forces many graduates to seek jobs in an entirely different sector than their majors in universities. Thus someone graduated from IT is becoming a banker and someone from a finance background is becoming an HR. Many of those students are setting up their own business instead of doing a job. As a result, they are forced to find alternative works which are not directly related to the courses they took in the university.

Furthermore, employees often need to enrol in different training and professional courses. Those who have finished a university degree with a wide range of subjects would be able to do better in those training programmes and courses. For instance, IT professionals often take the MBA course and this is another good example why the university students should study an extensive range of subjects rather than studying some selective subjects for the jobs.

I, therefore, conclude that a wide range of subjects at the university level is more useful for a student's career and overall development. Hence, job-centric university education sounds a good idea in theory, but in practice, this is a faulty one.