It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays it is quite common to see students taking a year gap prior to begin their college life. Like every situation, this also has some benefits and drawbacks associated with it. This essay examines various advantages and disadvantages of taking a year break between school life and college life and provides a logical conclusion.

TO begin with, there are some beautiful advantages of taking a year break like students can try various field before choosing a subject in their college studies. This will assure that they will score good marks plus they will have good interest in the subjects chosen. Another major benefit is that students can spend some good time with their family members during that period because once college life starts, youth are busy in assignments, projects and other study related work. At the same time, this period could be profitably used to visit grandparents or other relatives, who live quite far away or whom they did not visit from a long time.

However, Opting for a year break between school and college could be disastrous. Sometimes this gap generates a lack of interest in further studies. If a student has joined some job or work, he will be happier in earning money then studying further. Being employed at this level of education would not be a long-term beneficial decision. Another major disadvantage is that after a break from studies, students might find difficult to crack entrance examination to get admission in college.Along with that since, the student has lost his daily routine of studies, it will be difficult to concentrate in college studies, which further impact his grades and results.

In conclusion, like every other situation, taking a break between school studies and university admissions has its own advantages and disadvantages. It all depends upon the students interest and family's situation that this decision is beneficial or destructive.