It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.

It is clear that media use has been gradually become a subject of debatable topics in recent decades because of its effects on human life. Although some claim that there are many limitations of media, benefits that it bestows to societies are significant.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of media. First, it negatively effects on development of social skills. In fact, spending too much time on media is the expense of lacking of emotional connection and face-to-face communication which drives to many interaction-related issues for people, especially children. Second, apart from eye-related problems, some mental illnesses are also linked with heavy consumption of social media. For instance, some kinds of social networks, including Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, have detrimental effects on human brain since using of these platforms exacerbates anxiety and depression that impacts to our sleep which causes severe health problems.

On the other hand, media definitely contributes to stimulating development of societies. First, the main advantage of media is that it has significantly improved the connectivity. Actually, thanks to technological advancements, media use is an efficient way to communicate with other people regardless of the location, which help to keep in touch with the old friends who already relocated to the other side of the world. Second, media also bestows many benefits to development of education. For example, by taking the modern educational methods, such as distance learning and e-learning courses, people who cannot afford to get their higher degree due to some reasons are allowed to pursue their education that makes their lives better.

In conclusion, given that there still have downsides, development of media is imperative to development of human race. Consuming media accurately ensures human can obtain its net positive benefit.