It is commonly thought that it is healthy for adults to maintain an outside interest in order to relax or stay fit. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of 3 of the following sports and pastimes:

• tennis

• walking

• museums

• a club

• a gym

Everyone wants to maintain a perfect health but it is difficult to obtain this especially in this modern era with a changing lifestyle where people remain busy most of the time. So, the adults engage in different sports and pastimes to stay fit and healthy. But both sports and pastimes have advantages and disadvantages. A brief of the matter is discussed below.

First of all, tennis is preferred for its several advantages. It helps to make the body fit and reduces risks for diseases like diabetes, heart disorders etc. Overall mental health is also achieved from this sport. But the most important disadvantage is – tennis is not fit for everyone. Adults over 45 are suggested not to participate in tennis. They might be unable to stroke with the heavy racket or may not move in the court speedily. Besides, this is a costly sport as well.

Second, walking is a very good form of physical exercise and applicable for people of any age. It helps to reduce weight, burn fats and maintain a healthy lifestyle. But it has some demerits as well. Extensive walking may weaken bone joints. Besides, walking provides a slow benefit. It reduces weight in exchange for longer times. My dad takes a morning walk every day to shed his extra pounds but the results are unremarkable. He has been walking for last three months.

Finally, people join clubs for passing leisure hours. It offers recreational acts like playing cards, having a group chat etc. Such events develop a sense of comfort to the club-goers. In fact, a club improves mental faculties. But there are no physical benefits as it is derived from physical movements.

At the end, I believe physical activities should be taken to maintain a healthy living and lifestyle. Only fit people may seek the opportunity to join a club as they need less physical movements. Besides, the remaining people should take sports but after their physical strength and ability.