It is important to give children the chance to act independently and make their own decisions from early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Educating children is an ever-challenging task.

Some recent parenting theories suggest that offspring should be given their independence when it comes to behavior and decision-making at an early age. Due to their lack of maturity at this stage and the possible long-lasting consequences of their wrong decisions, i totally disagree with this approach.

Firstly, young children are not mature enough to realize how the world really works. But what does maturity really mean? Maturity represents the experience gained throughout the life cycle, the one which helps people distinguish good from evil, right from wrong.

At an early age, it's impossible for children to have such experience and to use it when needed.

For instance, children tend to believe that everyone around them is as caring and loving as their family;therefore, they're an easy target to people with hazardous intentions, such as pedophiles, kidnappers etc.

In order to avoid this kind of people, it's advisable that especially at an early age, children should not take actions without their parents' approval.

Secondly, children taking their own decisions at early stages, might result in irreversible consequences later in life.

For example, children who have peers that smoke, drink alcohol, or even take drugs, might get curious to try them as well, enhancing their chances for regular use.

If children hide this from their parents, they will cause permanent damages to their health.

Considering this options and their potential drawbacks, young children's decision-making without their parents' guidance, is completely unacceptable.

In conclusion, we cannot expect children with neither life experience, nor a realistic view of the consequences of their actions, to behave and make decisions independently. This only emphasizes their need for parents' advise and protection, at least until the age of 18.