It is observed in many countries that less and less people nowadays go to the cinema to watch movies. What could be the possible cause and solution of this?

Many countries have recently observed that there is a declining trend in the number of people watch movies in the cinema. This essay will discuss possible reasons for the declination of movie viewers as well as some solutions to address this issue.

In the era of globalisation, people are more interested in spending their leisure time at home rather than hanging around especially catching a movie in the cinema. It could be a factor that contributed to the matter. Effect of busy and tight schedule of working days, people are more interested in relaxing their mind and muscle at home while watching a television program or doing something which is very meaningful for them. For instance, the television programmes are definitely enough for them to watch and enjoy while staying at home nowadays. There are a lot of channels including music, movies, documentaries, home box office, comedian shows, news show and others which can make people think twice before going to the cinema.

Easy access to online movies is another reason people visit cinema less frequently. It is natural that people would prefer to watch the latest movie on their plasma screen 3D TV at home rather than spending money to buy cinema tickets. Online movies and piracy have negative effects on the number of cinema viewers nowadays. Finally, low quality of locally made movies is another factor that discourages people in visiting cinema halls.

In order to tackle this issue, film authorities and the government need to be involved and take further actions, so that our film industry does not face the extinction phase. The first and foremost thing is the director should produce a fresh and high quality of story line which can give more benefits and eventually able to attract people to watch films in the cinema. Next, the cinema organiser or company can make an effort to advertise the film widely and give a promotion day for the people. For example, establishing a special day with the special low rate of movie tickets might attract more people to go the cinema.

Piracy should be prevented and better cinema halls should be built to attract people to watch movies in the cinema. Lastly, the government perhaps can invest some money for improving their film quality to the international level and consequently can increase the confidence level of people toward the locally made films.

In conclusion, the number of people who go to the cinema is declining nowadays and that might be due to easy access to the cinema at home, satellite TV channels, piracy and low-quality local films. This problem could be addressed through different ways such as producing good and quality films locally, offering a low rate for tickets, preventing piracy and encouraging people to watch movies in cinema by wide range advertisement. The government also can make some investments for the film as to increase the film quality to the international level.