It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

According to the latest reports, it seems that the tendency for studying scientific subjects is receiving decreasing attention in many societies. This alarming trend poses a number of reasons which bring a new set of concerns.

To begin with, it should be noted that the number of students who prefer to study other fields rather than scientific ones, tend to outweigh the science lovers. The reasons vary from personal preference to society expectation. Except the former which is respectful, the latter is caused by many external factors. For example, in less developed countries, where the dominate industry has been imported from other developed countries, such as Germany, science has no remarkable situation. As I know, these nations rarely allocate a specific budget to provide students equipment or labs. This issue would be a barrier to choses science as a major.

On the other hand, some potential problems will be raised consequently. Becoming less productive is the chief among them. To illustrate, Africana nations do not have an active industry and as a result, they have to import everything from other countries. The second negative effect is the few number of job opportunities that available for young generations. Also, the quality of life would be lower in comparison with developed countries who applying the results of new scientific projects in daily life of their citizens. In fact, public welfare in these countries will be reduced significantly.

In conclusion, considering all mentioned points, it is obvious that several important reasons are contribute to the choosing science as a major to study or not. However, there are some following influences that are worthy of consideration.