Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To What extent do you agree?

With advancements in technologies, especially in e-libraries, maintenance of conventional library is simply wastage of resources. In my opinion, gadgets as reading device is a most cost efficient alternative but it does not provide medium for interaction among readers that people at library can have.

To Begin with, the reading devices are without a doubt is a best medium for readers, irrespective of their geographical location. For instance, Amazon kindle is gizmos that user can have similar experience as while reading the actual book without visiting an actual library. Besides, since there is no physical infrastructure involve, the cost of maintenance is quite negligible. A small city library, for example, spends around 50 thousand on the maintenance which is just a tip of the iceberg if the cost of renovation and staff salaries are added, the same amount can be utilized to purchase new books or for building some other facilities for citizens. Moreover, the number of people visiting the conventional libraries are falling exponentially which means wastage of money for only a portion of readers. Keeping recent trends in mind, the reduction in budget for libraries is an acceptable approach.

However, the old-fashioned libraries are not completely useless as it still offers certain unique aspects to its users. For example, it is certainly a great place to socialize with people of similar interest who shares the same ideology. Additionally, as a reader, surrounding environment plays a huge role in enhancement of concentration while reading a favorite book, something which e-libraries can never provide. Keeping this smaller community in mind who still advocates on physical libraries, completely closing down is a ignorance to their demands.

In conclusion, although computer libraries offer great value for money, it lacks other indirect benefits, such as socialization. Thus, it is acceptable to reduce the budget for former libraries instead of completely eradicating and shutting down the heritage libraries.