In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Instead of a house, Many people prefer a flat in apartments as their habitation, in most cities. In my opinion, I believe that housing is a serious problem, especially in urban areas, because of growing population, so apartments offer more upsides, such as reasonable cost of living, compared to raw houses.

To begin with, multi-storey buildings are an excellent solution to the housing crisis which is arising these day in major cities because of a growing number of people are migrating to urban areas, in the hope of better employment opportunities. Besides, it costs king' ransom to purchase a separate house while flats offer an excellent value for money, which a commoner can easily afford. Take for an example, a two-bedrooms-hall-kitchen flat costs half the price of house with same floor area. Thus, people prefer to stay in apartment blocks over raw houses.

On the other hand, builders construct apartments with an aim to accommodate as many residences as they can, to make it more cost effective, which leads to huge congestion. For example, residence apartments without even parking space in the middle of urban center. As a result, there is hardly any open space left to set up any play areas for families with children, or to expand it in the long run. Moreover, organising a function at home would be difficult because of space constraint, and it causes inconvenience to the neighbours who live right next door on the same floor.

In conclusion, although there are downsides of apartments, it can be easily overcome if they are built by following good standards. Once, governments ensure strict regulation while setting up a colony, more people will choose to stay in flats.