In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion. –Reasons –Examples

It is generally noticed that greater longevity is prevalent among people in different parts around the world. Although this phenomenon might have some advantages, I am inclined to believe that its drawbacks are far more than its merits.

On the one hand, there are two social merits that long lifespan can offer for both seniors and their families. First, for the elderly people, as they can enjoy the company of their beloved ones for much longer time, consequently, this would immensely load their times with pleasant moments leading to strengthening the bonds between family members. In addition, families would greatly benefit from the wisdom and experience of their senior members; they can seek their guidance throughout different life aspects. For instance, my late grandfather, whom I always considered my sole mentor, has helped me a lot while taking the critical decisions in my life, such as his priceless advice to join the Faculty of Pharmacy, as he was able to recognize my passion for science since I was a child.

On the other hand, although the mentioned advantages, I am still convinced that the demerits of longevity outweigh the merits for a couple of reasons. To begin with, long lifespan would burden the shoulders of the governments with more expenses. To illustrate, more welfare funds will be needed if people are living for longer years. This year, the NHS has announced that 10 billion Euros had to be added to cover the medical insurance of people above 65 in the past 10 years. Another drawback is the shortage of job vacancies, as senior citizens would still be occupying their positions at their work leaving young people jobless. This trend is significantly escalating the unemployment rates among young people, which is adding an extra effort on the government.

To conclude, despite the positive impact on society in terms of tightens family bonds, I hold the notion that longevity has substantially dire impacts that outweigh the positive ones.