In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it a valuable work experience, which is important for learning and taking responsibility. What is your opinion?

These days, there are some children in many nations who are involved in some sort of paid work. It is often argued by some people that children should focus on study, while others insist that working experience in childhood can be a beneficial opportunity for them to develop their social skill such as responsibility. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree that children should be engaged in paid work.

In my view, studying at school itself is not enough for children to start working as a professional after they graduate from school. In work environments, people usually need to possess not only knowledge for their job but also a proper mindset such as responsibility as a professional. In terms of the point above, being engaged in some paid work in childhood is quite beneficial for children to acquire such a sense. For example, cleaning floor or washing dishes might be suitable tasks for them. By paying a small amount of money, children will be more responsible for their performance at work.

Some people tend to claim that children should not work, because they consider working in childhood as something that negatively affects children's study. If children work very hard to gain money, they cannot spend enough time to study. However, children can be involved in paid work only after school for a short time, which will not influence their performance of study badly. In addition, working experience with a sense of achievement and small amount of money will encourage children to be more energetic about their study as well.

In conclusion, as long as children can keep up with their study at school, I believe that the experience of engagement in paid work is quite essential for children to develop their sense of responsibility and motivation.