In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they could be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be prohibited because they are of the major pollutants of both lands and water around the world. I completely agree but I think there are other measures that can be taken before putting a complete ban in place.

The reason that plastic bags should be banned in the future is that they do not biodegrade and continue to pollute the environment for hundreds of years after being distracted. Plastic bags are often used only once, and end up clogging the land and polluting the water, causing around 1000,000 marine animals deaths each year. Even when plastic does start to break down, it fragments into microplastic which causes even more damage to all life on earth. The only way to prevent throw-away plastic, such as plastic shopping bags, from seriously and irreversibly damaging our planet is to prohibit it.

However, it is best to try to change consumer behavior before completely banning plastic bags. Plastic bags are not a vitally, necessary plastic product, only a convenience and customer should learn to replace them by using bags from home. Another step to deterring people from using so many plastic bags is by putting a high price on them which will encourage people to reuse them. Finally having recycled bins by which customer can get cash back for depositing used plastic bags will also help. By altering consumer behavior, it is a good way of raising awareness of plastic pollution as a whole and this can lead to more action on other unnecessary plastic products in the future.

In conclusion, an eventual total ban on plastic bags is crucial to preserve life on this planet and protect it from the effects of throwaway non-biodegradable products.