In many countries, some students live with their families while studying, but other students prefer to attend universities in other cities.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many teenagers are leaving parental nests to pursue higher studies, while others prefer to live with their families during college days. Undoubtedly, there are some disadvantages of living away from a guardian. However, I believe that the positive impacts of this trend outweighs negative ones.

Admittedly there are some basic drawbacks of the trend of staying away from the family. Firstly, college students are not mature enough to differentiate among bads or goods because of which they may start doing unethical activities. Since it is very easy to get persuaded in the adolescence, students may start consuming drugs under the influence of their peers. This might not be the case for day-scholar as the parents often keep track of their children's activities. Secondly, the teenager may get depressed as they start a new college life. Moving away from their loved ones and creating a new bond with unknown students, is not everyone's cup of tea.

Having said that, I argue that it is far more beneficial to stay in a hostel while studying. One benefit is that the students become self-reliant as they leave their parental nest. They not only start managing their monthly expenses but also start doing some basic tasks such as cleaning, laundry and sometimes even cooking. For instance, I learned to cook while staying in the hostel, during my graduation. Another advantage is that the hostelers may get more time, which otherwise would have been consumed in travelling, to get involved in extra-curricular activities. Owing to this, they, on the one hand, develop a strong bond with peers, on the other hand, develop inter-personal skills.

To conclude, leaving the family or getting involved in unlawful events are some disadvantages, whereas becoming self-reliant and more time invest in something fruitful are the advantages of the students living away from their loved ones.