In many countries, supermarkets have caused small shops to close down. Is this having more advantages or more disadvantages?

Supermarkets have been instrumental in economic growth of a country since its inception. They are an important policy assets and prosperity generators. Shopping at supermarkets is hassle free and time saving. You can get almost everything under one roof. Because of the bulk purchase, supermarkets can also offer lot of discounts which in turn help customers reduce their expenses. Also, supermarkets have shelving system using which, customers can check out multiple things in their own good time and take an informed decision.

In addition to their consumer benefits, supermarkets offer a blend of benefits to Government as well. They boost the economy by providing huge employment to people and act as huge tax revenue generators. They prove beneficial for surrounding contrast small businesses as well by attracting large number of people which results in improvement in quality of their life.

Having said that, growing supermarkets in a country, have some disadvantages as well. They result in destruction of small provisional stores. No one will be interested to buy goods from small stores if any supermarket is in vicinity. As a result, supermarkets curb the development of small businesses.

But I think, both methodologies can coexist, if these small businesses switch their target area towards places which are yet to develop. With this, at least, people in such areas, won’t need to travel to cities to get the groceries. It will be a win-win for both, which will lead to rural development and small businesses also won’t suffer any loss.

So, every coin has two sides. But if we make use of both sides for a development of country then we can make most of it.