In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular.

Why do you think these books and Tv shows are popular?

What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

There is no denial to the fact that nowadays books and TV shows related to crime and action are becoming widespread in many countries as these attract the attention of the youth. In my opinion, though I disagree with the notion, hence this essay will bring forth how such type of information mislead the viewers and the role of parents in mitigating the impact of such programmes.

First and the foremost reason is the content of such books and TV shows which are very disturbing and really affects the developing minds of the people and viewers. There happens to be a lot of violence depicted in TV crime dramas. For example, after watching a very popular crime show on TV, a man got inspired from a story and he ended up in killing his three children as a saint in the show said that fortune will come his way if he does so. Hence, such programmes must be banned from being telecasted as the content bamboozle the audience in taking heinous actions.

Furthermore, parents must keep a watch on their children and must look into the kind of books read by their wards and type of shows watched. It is a fault of the parents as well because the kind of values imbibed by them in their children play a significant role here. For example, in a recent survey conducted by Oxford University on students and working professional, it was concluded that 67 percent of the respondents who read books and/or watch TV shows pertaining to crime, belong to those parents/families which did not really know the daily routine of their wards and time spent by them. Therefore, it has become the need of the hour that parents must be aware of the activities that their children are engaged in and council them often towards a right path.

To conclude, it must be ensured that no such book is published and also such TV dramas are stopped from being released along with role of parents that is required to guide the audience in a right direction.