In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, there is a global trend among city dwellers to live alone or with immediate family. In my opinion, this trend has more disadvantages than advantages because the elderly feel abundant and lonely as well as children do not see a good example of family bonds.

First, the resent trend of living by small groups of immediate families, which replaced the living style of our grandparents, can be considered as negative development because the elderly after certain age are left behind. They are forced to live in elderly houses that obviously cannot replace a family. Even though somebody can argue that they have professional care in the face of nurses and communication among the peers, still they do not have any of family members surrounding them. As a result, old people feel lonely and abundant ad their children are not able to visit them on daily basis.

Meanwhile, living in a large house with children and grandchildren brings them sense of joy and happiness. In addition, the older generation can help to up bring the youngsters while their parents are hectic at work. Living with the older members of the family would teach children compassion and respect to the elderly. As well as this, extended members of a family would be able help each other with house chores and taking care of children. It is understood that this way of life help us to strengthen family ties, which are rare nowadays. To illustrate, my mother grew up in a large family, where everyone tend to help each other. As a result, all member of her family have close bond with each other and they still stay in touch.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that living separately from the family or having small family may look appealing from the first glance, I think that it is negative trend, which is more harmful than beneficial.