In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment.

To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, in some nation the amount of juvenile crime is increasing. There is an opinion that adolescents committing severe offences should be sentenced on the same basis as matured criminals. I somehow agree with the notion because justice must be objective.

First, I am convinced that children under the age of majority who committed severe crime as intentional homicide or torture should be ready to serve the same amount of time in jail as adult offenders. This is because teenagers should be aware that justice will be served and in case of a major crime, they will not have any advantages due to their age. Thus, it will act as a deterrent for the youth and discourage them from commitment of a felony. As well as this, it will be right to sentence an adolescent for a shorter jail term because released criminals tend to commit a new offense just after dismission.

However, those cases, which are involved mature criminals who may force a child to break a law, should be assisted with a great deliberation due to the reason that a teenager may be a victim in spite the fact of committing an offence. For instance, an adult offender may threaten to a younger person by different violent acts in case if they will not obey and refuse to perpetrate an offence. Consequently, in this kind of cases jury or a judge should take into account the age of a convicted person.

In conclusion, I believe that major crimes should be sentenced equally despite the age of a criminal. Meanwhile, juridical system should consider if a person under the age majority was involved into a crime by force or not.