In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Education in many nations is becoming increasingly tougher these days. Among several issues, truancy is a pressing problem which is soaring at an alarming rate. Though there are many reasons constituting to this trend, conventional methods of teaching, inability of peer acceptance and social competence are considered as major. The effects that may arise due to these could cripple the children and society.

Many pupils who develop the signs of disinterest and fatigue spending strenuously long hours in closed classrooms tend to skip the classes. Additionally, some children who could not acclimatize themselves to the ever competent world develop the habit of evading schools. A recent article by the world-renowned psychologist Mr. John Gresham revealed that students devoid themselves going to school because they were not able to perform well in subjects and were detracted by their peers.

As a result of this, a multitude of children who do not attend school imbibe anti-social behavior from the external world. They resort to crime for fun and also tend to bully others. This may lead to juvenile delinquency. When these children grow as adults, they are left unemployed and to make ends meet continue criminal behavior. Breeding of such individuals make the society a perilous place to live. This would render a negative image to the nation also. Rio Olympics in 2011 recorded manifold incidents of robbery and crime by children and adolescents which threatened Brazil aspirations to host international sports events in future.

In conclusion, social competence and conventional old edification methods are the primary factors leading to truancy and irreparable damages caused are dangerous community and a detrimnetal image of the nation.