In many countries, youngsters protest against the system by damaging public properties. Is this justified?

It is an undeniable fact that the world has been advancing rapidly since the beginning of this century. Therefore, many people opine that today our living standards are much better than those of our ancestors. This essay concurs with this statement as it has manifold reasons to substantiate it.

To embark on, people were more susceptible to different kinds of diseases in those days and casualties were high. The revolutionary development of medical science contributed to averting such threats to a great extent. For example, the fatality rate of infectious viral diseases such as measles and polio were significantly higher in the previous century; however, nowadays these are completely eradicated from the planet. While newer diseases continue to emerge from time to time, modern medicine is able to cure many of them.

In addition, the transportation facilities available these days are more versatile. They have reduced the travelling time to a great extent as well as improved the connectivity between various destinations. Likewise, home appliances have made cooking and cleaning easier. Apart from that, the role of recent communication channels remarkably contributed to making our life more comfortable. The internet which enables us to send and receive a huge amount of data within seconds can be considered as the finest example of the power of technology. Thus, obviously, our lives are easier and more comfortable today than in the past.

In short, the people who live in the present century are enjoying the benefits of better services in the health, transport and communication sectors. Therefore, I believe, we enjoy a better quality of life than our ancestors.