Many employers are employing people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that good social skills is as important as good qualifications to succeed in job?

There is no denying that the way a candidate is hired in an organisation has changed drastically. Despite the academic proficiency which a person possess, an individual is also required to have good interpersonal skills in order to attain a successful career. I agree with the argument, and the essay will discuss the opinion in detail.

At the onset, those who believe that social skills are important in an employee might argue that these people are effective communicators. This is because they have confidence in what they speak and can efficiently address their ideas to large audience. For example, people with better presentation skills often gets platform to represent his company in global conferences. Also, participation in such events gives a person edge over other fellow workers at the workplace. In contrast, if there is a worker who has lack of confidence, may witness a slow progression in his job.

Furthermore, an employee with great soft skills finds it easy to get a job. The reason for this is attributed to the art of maintaining public relations. For instance, many people are given employment offers from their clients because of their excellent networking skills. This not only gives a new direction to profession, but also ensures financial growth. Moreover, if a person is inadequate in these skills, then he may struggle to have grab job opportunities.

In conclusion, although academic excellence plays a vital role in a workplace, an employee should also focus on improving his social skills as well. I firmly believe that a combination of both these qualities are important for leading favourable results in job.