Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of languages like English.

Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of time, the English language is becoming more important than the native languages which have resulted in the decay of these languages. In my opinion, it is a positive development.

To begin with, many people believe it as negative development because in their point of view the local language is the representation of the culture and an identification of the region and acceptance to English which results in the depletion of these cultures. Apart from this, most people believe language a depiction of their feelings in their own ways but due English they might even lose the actual interoperation of the world as per their scenario. For instance, India is a house to 22 national languages with 100s of other local languages but the extension of English has drastically decreased the local language number because learning English has become a necessity to grab a higher job.

Despite the above-mentioned negative impact, I believe its positives overrule the negative ones. Firstly, the acceptance of one common language around the group will definitely increase the businesses because there will be no language barriers. This will also ramp up the profit to the companies which will obviously increase the revenue of the government. The government will be able to provide better services with this revenue and even can gain the trust of the people by providing them quality services such as better drinking facilities, hospital facilities, or waste disposal facilities. In other terms, a common language will not only benefits an individual or organization but directly or indirectly impact the whole world. To illustrate, around 87 percent of the offices in big cities demand English spokesmen for the company and to deal at the international level.

To conclude, acceptance to English might result in the death of many local languages even though, it paves a better way for businesses and increases the profit of companies and the government.