Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why this is the case and what be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that historical places and museums attract a large number of tourists. However, the local people show little interesting in them. In my opinion, there are several reasons behind this trend and government can take certain measures to encourage locals to visit there.

Initially, people find it very boring to visit these places. In other words, they are already familiar with their culture and history and perhaps there is nothing new for them to explore in the same museum. Therefore, they avoid going to these places as they consider such visits a waste of time. On the other hand, a tourists who is eager to explore new places in their destinations, museum or historical places will help them better understand the culture and history of the countries they are coming. Another reason is that the entrance fee of museums is also a factor that discourages locals. If a person visited it once, they would avoid visiting it again because nobody wants to pay again to watch the same artworks.

The government can take steps to encourage local residents to attend museums and historical buildings. Firstly, local authorities should hold frequent culture events and exhibitions at these locations to provide people with new experiences every time they visit there. The second solution is to provide free or discounted entry tickets on weekends so that low and middle income families can visit. For those reasons, the government can attract more locals to visit these places.

To conclude, people local do not like to visit museums and historical places because there is not so much they can learn from these places. Other aspect, expats enjoy these places as they can learn more about the culture and history of the country they visit. The government can encourage more natives to visit by conducting interesting programs like exhibitions at these places or provide free tickets.