Many nowadays prefer online education to face to face education. Do you consider this a positive or a negative development?

Latterly, many people opt for learning online rather than attending traditional classes. This development, in my opinion, is a promising one however, it may lack immediate feedback and interacting with others.

Studying online is considered to be positive because it has lower costs. If one chooses to learn through the internet, this will costs him much lesser than enrolling in real campuses. In other words, degrees and courses offered online are cheaper and more affordable to many students who can not pay thousands of dollars in higher education and in transportation as well. For example, coursera website, which is one of the best websites that offers a wide range of degrees in different fields with reasonable prices and sometimes it offers free courses. Online education is a better option for saving money and learning from prestigious professors at the same time.

Another point that makes distant learning advantageous is that people can learn at their own pace and from their comfort zone. Whilst there is a specific schedule students have to stick to in face to face education, online allows them to set their own timetables according to their individual needs. Studying wherever one feels comfortable makes learning more enjoyable. Therefore, educational targets can be accomplished while practicing daily life activities and hobbies.

Finally, although online education is a positive development in my opinion, it does not let learners to communicate in person with their colleagues and teachers. For some individuals, discussion with educators is essential for their learning process. In addition, learning online does not allow people to socialize and though they will not develop interpersonal and communication skills which are needed in the professional life.

To conclude, although there are some drawbacks of learning online, I believe studying at ones own pace and saving high tuition fees are more important.