Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A plethora of criminals who spent sometime in a jail as a kind of punishment for the first time, might commit more crimes afterward. this due to several factors such as mix all prisoners together and sharing some risky stories. This essay aims to explore in further detail the reasons of such an issue and offers some solutions to overcome it before coming to a conclusion.

To begin with, it’s irrefutable that mixing prisoners together might exacerbate their attitudes and lead them to become more aggressive in the future. For instance, offenders who had small crimes such as thefts, or dangerous drunk drivers can easily being influenced by other dangerous prisoners who have been accused of murdering or drug trading. Mixing those people unfortunately makes them extremely dangerous for the global society, as they have heard a lot of bad experience from other prisoners during their stay.

In contrast, there are some solutions might help in alleviate such a problem. First of all, separate prisoners into several sections based on the kind of crime that they did to avoid sharing some negative experience with other dangerous prisoners. Second of all, enhancing the prisoners thoughts and skills, by providing some theoretical and vocational session and prepared them to become a productive member of the global society. Denmark as an example has the best strategy in dealing with prisoners, as the government encourage them to learn and provides them some practical sessions such as handicrafts and other in order to prepare them to be an active member at their society. Finally, there is no doubt that the type of punishment is playing a fundamental role in mitigating this problem. Therefore, many advance nations nowadays impose different valuable penalties on offered such as working as volunteer in elderly house or helping disable people. Such this action has remarkable results on offenders mentalities as it makes them to become more helpful and active in their societies.

To sum up, mixing all prisoners together is the main cause of many offenders to do more crimes. However, following the offered solutions might help offenders to become more productive for their societies.