Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is argued that many of those, who have already been to prison once, commit more crimes afterwards. In my opinion, the reason for this phenomena is the impact of the society and the experience gained in jail.

To begin with, I believe that imprisonment pushes the person out of the community, creating barriers when trying to return to the ordinary course of life. This, as a result, may give rise to tension and the former prisoner might form a negative attitude towards after members of the society. Secondly, those, who have got to jail first time might get greatly affected by the interraction with other criminals. This especially relates to teenagers and young adults. The younger generation is considered to be most vulnerable to stressful situations, and can become even more violent when exposed to negative examples.

To solve the aforementioned issue it can take effort both from the community and the prison officials. Firstly, it is essential to build communicative bridges between those in jail and outside of it. For example, local authorities can implement social programs to teach children at schools that those, who have previously been arrested are equal members of the society. Another important aspect is the intense atmosphere in jails. Nowadays many prisons in prosperous countries hold cultural events, enabling the prisoners express their thoughts and emotions with the help of art and recreational activities.

To conclude, in my point of view educating the society and improving the atmosphere in prisons is the key to ensure that less people among those, swho have been to jail repeatedly break the law.