Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious, educational books. What is your opinion about this?

In today's fast-paced era each individual possesses his or her own leisure pursuits and reading is surely one of the best methods to bust stress. Children too develop this interest during their school days. Reading entertainment books rather than textbooks surely is a concern among majority of the parents. In my opinion, this hobby is certainly a good aspect of the children's personality as it proves to be very beneficial in their future.

To commence with, the advantages of reading books are numerous. Firstly, it proves to be the best means that encourages the child to build his knowledge reservoir. The parents are more worried about the academic grades than the overall development of a brood thus the books read for enjoyment prove to be futile in providing education in their viewpoint but this is not true. A child learns proper pronunciation of the words by going through the rhyme and story books. Secondly, reading promotes the building up of vocabulary in the young minds which in turn helps to develop language competence.

Furthermore, the school is an institution where educational books play the heroic character. Students are alloted limited library periods in a week so most of their time is devoted to syllabus. Entertaining books are needed to break the monotony of the school time-table. In addition to this reading only limited topics makes the children book-worms and they develop the habit of rote-learning whereas a flexible reader possesses ample knowledge which reflects in his or her performance academically.

To conclude, I reiterate my opinion by saying that reading variety of books and topics increases the horizon of children and makes them competent in life.