Many people believe that reducing speed limit is the best option for road safety improvement. Do you think there are measures that could put in place . What are the advantages and disadvantaes of this?

There is a belief that the road safety could be improved by minimizing speed limit. Although this remedy has significant impacts on the road safety, there are cheaper alternatives to achieve the final goal which is drivers' safety in the roads. I will explain not only better alternatives but also an advantage and disadvantage to reduce speed limit in this essay.

A first and most important alternative measure may be to increase the education programs via media. If people had sufficient information about the dangers of riding at high speed, they would try to drive carefully at low speed to be safe from the road accidents. In addition, an effective plan might be the encouraging ways. The governments could implement this plan in various ways. For example, if people observe the restricted speed during a year, they will be able to gain 30% discount for renewal of their cars' insurance. Thus, this solution has positive points for both people and governments.

Turning to the primary merit and demerit of reducing speed limit, the main benefit is to decrease the death rate of the road accidents. According to annual statistics, there are a multitude of accidents which is caused by high speed. The determination of limited speed would lower these statistics. To contrast this positive point, there is a drawback which is the subsequent costs to fulfil an aim. The government will need to employ a lot of new traffic policies and install some speed cameras which can supervise cars' speed.

To conclude, the alternative ways consist of the education and encouragement seem to be more economical. However, reducing speed limit has an advantage to decrease the accident statistics. Moreover, the negative point of this is to need extra budget for applying. It seems to me that the education policy is the best way to obtain final target.