Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media is the form of communicating with friends around the world. It has become one of the top forms of communication even above the phone. With the benefits of global communication, however, come risks and negative impacts.

One of the negative effects of social media is that it leads to addiction. Spending countless hours on social media can divert their attention from a particular task. It lowers the motivational level of the people, especially teenagers and students. They mainly rely on technology instead of learning the practical knowledge. This will make students lazier and their creativeness will never shower to everyone.

Another reason being that kids greatly affected by social media especially by social networking sites because today’s generation is very much addicted to Facebook, twitter and Instagram. The reason is that sometimes person shares videos or photos on social networking sites that contain violence and sex which can damage the behaviour of teenagers. It put the negative impact on the society as these kids can involve themselves in crime related activities.

Moreover, it diminishes the privacy as sharing information on social media can pose a threat to them. Sometimes, even with highest security, your personal information may leak on social sites which always creates a mess and poses a threat to a person. Anyone can download the photos and videos in just a few clicks. According to a 2010 Northeastern University and Max Planck Institute for Software Systems study, researchers created an algorithm to discover an individual's personal attributes by examining the one thing that most people leave public even when all other privacy settings are placed: their friend list. Using the algorithm, researchers could infer many personal traits merely from friend lists, including educational level, university attended, hometown and other private data.

Another downside of Social Media is that it has a huge impact on health. The less person moves the more weight that person likely to gain and few calories are burned while the person is working in front of the computer. Computer monitors have proven to cause the eye strain while working which leads to reducing of eyesight of a person. The Little movement also leads to muscle weakness, less muscle development and sometimes cause bone loss.

It leads to social detriments such as cyber bullying which is the use of electronic communication to bully someone by sending threatening messages and sending intimidating which cause emotional trauma in someone’s mind and sometimes even leads to suicide. 49.5% of students reported victimisation by bullying online and 33.7% admitted to online bullying. A 2012 study found that at least 800,000 minors had been harassed on Facebook. According to one report, 15% of adult users said that something that happened online caused a friendship to end. 12% of adult users said something that happened online caused a face-to-face argument, and for 3% of adults, it turned into a physical confrontation. Use of social media can correlate the personality and brain disorders like poor social skills, a need for instant gratification and other emotional distress like depression, anxiety and stress.

Like all things, social networking can be the benefit in moderation but unfortunately, moderation and networking do not coincide today’s society. Social networking allows for unnecessary risks in privacy, safety, social skills, and health. Networking, at best, offers ease of communication that social skills deteriorate, and at worst, is dangerous for children and networkers unaware of the predators lurking in the network.